Khiva - city of ancient Khorezm, a pearl of oriental architecture

The oldest city of the Khorezm state. The Khiva City of Sima. Khiva is the capital of algebra. Open-air museum. All these beautiful words about Khiva - the great city, beckoning with its Ichan-Kala fortress, the first UNESCO World Heritage Site in Central Asia and the most unique and atmospheric place in Uzbekistan. It was practically not subjected to reconstruction and has retained its original centuries-old appearance to this day.

Kiva Kiva
Kiva Kiva
Kiva Kiva

Khiva was a prosperous city on the Silk Road, with many caravanserais where tired merchants went to rest before entering the central city of Khorezm - Kunya-Urgench, now located on the territory of Turkmenistan, on the border with Uzbekistan, just 150 km from Khiva.

According to legend, Khiva got its name from the eldest son of Noah, Sim, who, having drunk water from a well, exclaimed: "Hey, wak, hey, wak!", Which means "how good"! And since then, the city began to be called Khiva.

Khiva was destroyed more than once by raids; he saw the phalanxes of Macedon, felt the clatter of the hooves of the Arab cavalry, saw the invasions of Genghis Khan and the procession of Tamerlane.

Khiva is the birthplace of the famous mathematician Al-Khorezm; he is called the "grandfather of computer science". A well-known historian of science called him "the greatest mathematician of his time and one of the greatest mathematicians of all time".

Khiva was also a key city on the Silk Road, such as Bukhara, Vabkent, Gijduvan, Shakhrisabz, Samarkand, Tashkent, Termez and other cities of the Ferghana Valley.

Best in Khiva / Ichan-Kala fortress.

Хива - город древнего Хорезма, жемчужина восточной архитектуры

Старейший город Хорезмского государства. Хива Город Сима. Хива – столица алгебры. Музей под открытым небом. Все эти прекрасные слова о Хиве – великом городе, манящем своей крепостью Ичан-Кала, первом объекте Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО в Центральной Азии и самом уникальном и атмосферном месте Узбекистана. Он практически не подвергался реконструкции и сохранил свой первоначальный многовековой вид до наших дней.

ХиваХива
ХиваХива
ХиваХива

Хива была процветающим городом на Шелковом пути, со множеством караван-сараев, куда уходили отдыхать уставшие купцы перед въездом в центральный город Хорезма - Куня-Ургенч, ныне расположенный на территории Туркменистана, на границе с Узбекистаном, всего в 150 км от Хивы.

По легенде Хива получила свое название от старшего сына Ноя, Сима, который, выпив воды из колодца, воскликнул: «Хей вак, хей вак!», что означает «как хорошо»! И с тех пор город стал называться Хивой.

Хива не раз разрушалась набегами; он видел фаланги македонцев, чувствовал стук копыт арабской конницы, видел нашествия Чингисхана и шествие Тамерлана.

Хива – родина известного математика Аль-Хорезма; его называют «дедушкой информатики». Известный историк науки назвал его «величайшим математиком своего времени и одним из величайших математиков всех времен».

Хива также была ключевым городом на Шелковом пути, как Бухара, Вабкент, Гиждуван, Шахрисабз, Самарканд, Ташкент, Термез и другие города Ферганской долины.

Лучшее в Хиве / Крепость Ичан-Кала.